Monday, August 21, 2017

Solar Eclipse Party and Kahoot



CAL OES: QUICK LOOK: What You Need to Know about the Solar Eclipse

On Monday, August 21, a solar eclipse will pass over all 50 United States for the first time since 1979. What’s a safe way to view the eclipse? What will it look like here in California and when is the peak time? We answer those questions and more in this week’s Quick Look.

Solar Eclipse Kahoot https://play.kahoot.it/#/k/91f57418-e03b-4a20-99bd-5e20b453e389

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Summer School Citizenship Classes Summary


From July 5-July 21, I taught a combined ESL 2 and 3 class at Milpitas Adult School.  

We took this opportunity to study ESL/Citizenship and read "Holding the Bag," an ESL novel set in Washington DC that had many links to study for the Citizenship interview.  

After the class ended, we to post EdPuzzles of the VOA Learning English Presidents videos.

On August 21, 2017,we started the new school year.  ESL 1 students will continue to study a little citizenship every day.







Thursday, July 6, 2017 

Citizenship 1


Monday, July 10, 2017


Holding the Bag 1: Negasi


Tuesday, July 11, 2017


Citizenship 2


Tuesday, July 11, 2017


Holding the Bag 2: A Ride to the Hospital


Wednesday, July 12, 2017


Holding The Bag 3: The Japanese Tourist


Thursday, July 13, 2017


Holding The Bag 4: Remembering  and Citizenship 3


Friday, July 14, 2017


Holding the Bag 5 : Shredded Money


Saturday, July 15, 2017


Holding the Bag 6: One More Fare


Sunday, July 16, 2017


Holding the Bag 7: A Horrible Thought


Monday, July 17, 2017


Holding the Bag 08: Going Home


Tuesday, July 18, 2017


Holding the Bag 09 and Citizenship 4


Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Holding the Bag 10: A Lot of Money: Inside the Black Bag


Thursday, July 20, 2017


Holding the Bag 11: A Sleepless Night


Friday, July 21, 2017


Holding the Bag 12: At the Police Station and Citizenship 5


Saturday, July 22, 2017


Holding the Bag 13: An Interview for the Newspaper


Sunday, July 23, 2017


Holding the Bag 14: More Interviews


Monday, July 24, 2017


Holding the Bag 15: A Very Special Letter


uesday, July 25, 2017


Holding the Bag: Negasi's Citizenship Interview


Wednesday, July 26, 2017


Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #3 with Diana Arias


Thursday, July 27, 2017


Do Van Nguyen's Citizenship Interview


Friday, July 28, 2017


Summer School 2017 (photos!)


Saturday, July 29, 2017


Citizenship Interview 16: Alecia Sotelo (Asuncion, Paraguay)


Monday, July 31, 2017


Jobs Video Quiz


Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Wednesday, August 2, 2017


John Adams Quiz


Thursday, August 3, 2017


Thomas Jefferson Quiz


Friday, August 4, 2017


James Madison Quiz


Saturday, August 5, 2017


James Monroe Quiz


Sunday, August 6, 2017

Monday, August 7, 2017


Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #4 with Erika Marrufo


Tuesday, August 8, 2017


Andrew Jackson Quiz


Wednesday, August 9, 2017


Martin Van Buren Quiz


Thursday, August 10, 2017


William Henry Harrison Quiz


Friday, August 11, 2017


John Tyler Quiz


Saturday, August 12, 2017


James K. Polk Quiz


Sunday, August 13, 2017


Zachary Taylor Quiz


Monday, August 14, 2017


Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #5 with Suresh Kumar Malhan


Tuesday, August 15, 2017


Millard Fillmore Quiz


Wednesday, August 16, 2017


Franklin Pierce Quiz


Thursday, August 17, 2017


James Buchanan Quiz


Friday, August 18, 2017


Abraham Lincoln


Check back later for more Presidential quizzes....

Monday, August 14, 2017

Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #5 with Suresh Kumar Malhan



uscitizenpod: Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #5 with Suresh Kumar Malhan (India)

Today we are going to listen to a practice interview with Suresh Kumar Mulhan (India). Special note: Suresh is an ESL 2 student and was the cameraman for our Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview series. 

We used a new version of the Easy Interview--15 questions based on the N-400 plus some civics questions. These interviews are part of the Round-Robin series of interviews and listening quizzes that will be release Labor Day 2017.

Monday, August 7, 2017

Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #4 with Erika Marrufo



uscitizenpod: Summer School Practice Citizenship Interview #4 with Erika Marrufo

Today we are going to listen to Erika Marrufo (Mexico) new versionsof the Easy Interview--15 questions based on the N-400 plus some civics questions. These interviews are part of the Round-Robin series of interviews and listening quizzes that will be release Labor Day 2017.

Watch our previous Summer School Interviews: